The nomination period has closed; the deadline was September 4, 2020. Companies were able to nominate themselves or other industry leaders that are making waves in the freight marketplace.


The FreightTech Award has been presented annually since 2019. Past honorees include Amazon, Convoy, FedEx, J.B. Hunt, project44, Tesla, and many more.


The FreightTech 25 are determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the industry’s most innovative and/or disruptive companies. A company receives 25 points for each first place vote, 24 for second and so on through to the 25th company, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing each company’s point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the Amway College Football Coaches Poll, the AP Pro32 rankings and the AP Top 25 rankings for men’s and women’s college basketball.


A panel chosen by FreightWaves will take the hundreds of nominations and narrow down these companies to the FreightTech 100. 

An external peer group of CEOs, industry leaders, academics and freight-industry investors will then take the FreightTech 100 list and rank those companies that they think are the top 25 most innovative companies in freight. Voters can vote for their own company if it is on the FreightTech 100 list, but each company can only be ranked once per voter. Voting is conducted and overseen by  accounting firm Katz, Sapper & Miller (KSM).

Key Dates

  • July 21 — Nominations Open
  • September 4 — Nomination Deadline
  • November 6 — Winners Announced at FreightWaves LIVE@HOME Fall 2020