Watch Now

Execs named to U.S.-Brazil CEO Forum

Execs named to U.S.-Brazil CEO Forum

   The White House on Thursday announced the U.S. private-sector participants for the 2011-2013 sessions of the U.S.-Brazil CEO Forum.
   The forum includes up to 24 chief executive officers from the United States and Brazil and meets twice a year to provide joint recommendations to the two governments on ways to strengthen the U.S.-Brazil economic relationship. The U.S. CEOs serve two-year terms and are selected from respondents of a joint Commerce Department-White House Federal Register notice inviting applicants for the U.S. section of the forum.   
      ‘Brazil stands out in the global marketplace for the tremendous opportunities it offers U.S. companies, and the Forum has helped to strengthen the ties between both of our countries,’ said U.S. Acting Commerce Secretary Rebecca Blank, in a statement.

   The Commerce Department said the forum’s joint recommendations have advanced discussions between the United States and Brazil governments on important issues such as visa reform, customs procedures, education, energy, trade facilitation and infrastructure.    And as a direct response to a joint recommendation made by the forum, the two governments signed the U.S.-Brazil Agreement on Trade and Economic Cooperation in March to expand trade and further grow economic relations.
   ‘With a potential market of 195 million consumers, Brazil presents tremendous opportunities for U.S. exporters of goods and services,’ the department said. Trade with Brazil is expected to increase in 2011 following trade in 2010 that totaled $59.4 billion. Brazil is among the world’s fastest-growing economies and, according to the International Monetary Fund, is anticipated to grow by between 4-5 percent in 2011.
   The U.S. CEOs for the 2011-2013 sessions of the U.S.-Brazil CEO Forum are:
   ‘ Tim Solso, chairman and CEO of Cummins, and U.S. section chairman.
   ‘ James Albaugh, president and CEO of Boeing Commercial Airlines.
   ‘ Steve Angel, chairman, president and CEO of Praxair.   
   ‘ Deepak Chopra, CEO of OSI Systems.
   ‘ John Faraci, chairman and CEO of International Paper.
   ‘ Kenneth Frazier, CEO of Merck.
   ‘ Paul Hanrahan, president and CEO of The AES Corp.
   ‘ Lee McIntire, chairman and CEO of CH2M HILL.
   ‘ John Melo, CEO of Amyris.
   ‘ Gregory Page, chairman and CEO of Cargill.
   ‘ Vikram Pandit, CEO of Citigroup.

Future of Supply Chain


The greatest minds in the transportation, logistics and supply chain industries will share insights, predict future trends and showcase emerging technology the FreightWaves way–with engaging discussions, rapid-fire demos, interactive sponsor kiosks and more.