Eye on the storm: DC mayor declares state of emergency, mandatory evacuation order lifted in parts of South Carolina

  Photo: Shutterstock

Photo: Shutterstock

District of Columbia Mayor Muriel Bowser declared a state of emergency ahead of Hurricane Florence Tuesday. Bowser said she anticipates heavy rain, strong winds and potential power outages across D.C.

Washington D.C. joins Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina and South Carolina in the growing list of places to declare states of emergency in preparation for the storm.

While things are becoming progressively more serious for most coastal residents, some people in South Carolina are breathing a sigh of relief.

South Carolina Governor Henry McMaster ordered an estimated 1 million people to evacuate the state’s coastal communities ahead of the storm Monday. He lifted that order for three counties in the southern portion of the state, Beaufort, Jasper and Colleton, with the exception of Edisto Beach, Tuesday.

Lanes reversals are already in effect throughout much of the state to assist with increased traffic due to evacuations.

North Carolina residents and visitors along the Outer Banks and in other areas with high flood risks are also under mandatory evacuation orders. Virginia Beach City Manager Dave Hansen encouraged residents in southern portion of the city to evacuate Monday.


Complete Hurricane Florence Coverage