Watch Now

MarAd’s Connaughton nominated FMC chairman

MarAd’s Connaughton nominated FMC chairman

The White House announced Tuesday that President Bush intends to nominate Maritime Administrator Sean T. Connaughton to chairman of the Federal Maritime Commission for a five-year term expiring on June 30, 2012.


   Management of the FMC has become a bigger issue because it has not had a full complement of commissioners nor a chairman since November 2006.

   Bush nominated Commissioner A. Paul Anderson as chairman in August 2007. He also nominated Carl B. Kress as commissioner. But despite holding hearings last year, the Senate neither confirmed Anderson nor Kress. Anderson decided to leave the FMC in May.


   The current commission roster includes Republican Rebecca F. Dye, and Harold J. Creel Jr. and Joseph E. Brennan, both Democrats.

   Prior to joining MarAd, Connaughton served as counsel at Troutman Sanders LLP and chairman of the Prince William (Va.) Board of County Supervisors. Earlier in his career, he served in the Coast Guard.

Future of Supply Chain


The greatest minds in the transportation, logistics and supply chain industries will share insights, predict future trends and showcase emerging technology the FreightWaves way–with engaging discussions, rapid-fire demos, interactive sponsor kiosks and more.