NewsTruckloadTruckload Indexes

TCA announces division winners in 43rd Annual Fleet Safety Awards



Eighteen Companies with Outstanding Safety Records Now Eligible for Two Grand Prizes

The Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) has selected 18 companies as division winners in its 43rd Annual Fleet Safety Awards. Sponsored by Great West Casualty Company, the awards recognize trucking companies who have demonstrated an unparalleled commitment to safety. The top three winning companies in each of six mileage-based divisions had the lowest accident frequency ratios per million miles, annually.

“Year after year, TCA’s members prove that safety is the top priority of the truckload industry through participation in the Fleet Safety Awards,” said TCA President John Lyboldt. “We are incredibly proud to recognize and showcase these fleets, which have maintained a superb safety record through their use of innovative programs to establish a culture of safety within their companies.”

All division winners are invited to compete for one of two grand prizes – one for carriers with a total annual mileage less than 25 million miles, and the other for carriers with mileage greater than 25 million miles. The two overall grand prize winners will be announced at TCA’s 81st Annual Convention at the Wynn Las Vegas Resort, March 10-13, 2019. All winners will receive recognition at TCA’s 2019 Safety & Security Division Meeting, June 2-4 at the Guest House at Graceland in Memphis, Tennessee.

Here are the 2018 Fleet Safety Awards winners:

Division 1 Winners

(less than 5 million miles)

1st Place

Tri Alexander Transportation

Muskogee, OK

2nd Place

Specialty Transport, Inc.

Knoxville, TN

3rd Place

Searcy Specialized

Harrison, OH

Learn more today


Division 2 Winners

(5-14.99 million miles)

1st Place

M&W Transportation

Nashville, TN

2nd Place

Britton Transport Inc.

Grand Forks, ND

3rd Place

Convoy Systems, LLC

Kansas City, KS

Division 3 Winners

(15-24.99 million miles)

1st Place

Kottke Trucking, Inc.

Buffalo Lake, MN

2nd Place

Grand Island Express

Grand Island, NE

3rd Place

V&S Midwest Carriers Corp.

Kaukauna, WI

Division 4 Winners

(25-49.99 million miles)

1st Place

Trans-West Logistics

Lachine, QC

2nd Place

Hill Brothers Transportation

Omaha, NE

3rd Place

Doug Andrus Distributing

Idaho Falls, ID

Division 5 Winners

(50-99.99 million miles)

1st Place

Groupe Robert, Inc.

Rougemont, QC

2nd Place


Oklahoma City, OK

3rd Place

Halvor Lines, Inc.

Superior, WI

Division 6 Winners

(100 million or more miles)

1st Place

Bison Transport

Winnipeg, MB

2nd Place

May Trucking Co., Inc.

Salem, OR

3rd Place

Contract Freighters, Inc.

Joplin, MO

For more information about TCA’s Fleet Safety Awards, including eligibility requirements and rules, visit the Fleet Safety Awards page.

The FREIGHTWAVES TOP 500 For-Hire Carriers list includes May Trucking (No. 76), Freymiller (No. 127), Halvor Lines (No. 128), Doug Andrus Distributing (No. 330) and Kottke Trucking (No. 413).

Chris Henry

Chris Henry has spent his entire 20-year career in transportation. In 2014, he founded the online motor carrier benchmarking service StakUp. As a result of a partnership with the Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) in 2015, StakUp was rebranded as inGauge and Henry became the program manager for the TCA Profitability Program (TPP), an exclusive benchmarking initiative that includes more than 230 motor carrier participants throughout North America. Since joining the program, participation in TPP has grown over 300%. In June 2019, StakUp was acquired by FreightWaves and Henry became its vice president of carrier profitability, in addition to his role with TPP. Henry earned an MBA from the University of Massachusetts and a bachelor of commerce degree from Nipissing University.